Skip to content

Beacon Award

The Beacon Award for Excellence in Student Achievement and Success

Purpose and Description

The Beacon Award for Excellence in Student Achievement and Success is an annual award to recognize institutional or programmatic accomplishments in student achievement and success at the NWCCU family of institutions.

Three separate categories of the Beacon Award will be offered, based on unduplicated student enrollment during the most recent fall student headcounts: Institutions with fewer than 2,000 students; between 2,000 and 6,000 students; and more than 6,000 students.

Award winners must demonstrate distinctive, measurable, and replicable innovations that have resulted in student achievement and success at the institutional or programmatic level, including innovations in advising and mentoring, alternative credentialing, experiential learning, learning communities, or other such efforts. Other winning examples may include new curricula, courses, or educational delivery models. The Beacon Award will recognize innovative approaches that have significantly contributed to measurable improvements in completion and/or graduation rates at the institution.

Award winners will receive a trophy and cash award (exact amount to be determined) to be used to further the institution’s efforts to implement the initiative.

Awarded institutions will be recognized during the NWCCU Annual Conference, where an institutional representative will have the opportunity to speak about their award-winning endeavors that are contributing to the success of their students. The winners will also be expected to submit a short article on their initiative for publication in NWCCU’s Beacon newsletter.


All NWCCU member institutions are eligible. Only one nomination per institution per year may be submitted. Previous Beacon Award winners are ineligible for a period of three years.

Nomination and Submission Process

The institution’s leadership must apply for the award along with a short narrative regarding the program and how the award criteria are demonstrated. The institution must submit a nomination packet of relevant materials, documentation, and evidence that clearly demonstrates the rationale for the nomination. The nomination packet cannot exceed five pages and must be submitted electronically in PDF format.


  • Clearly identifiable programmatic efforts that consistently champion student academic success and achievement demonstrated through meaningful student outcome innovation and examples.
  • Evidence of a complete assessment process including assessment collection, analysis, and specifics of how the assessment data analysis led to program improvement.
  • Evidence that the program directly led to student success and achievement such as student learning outcomes, increased retention rates, and increased completion or graduation rates.
  • Evidence that the innovation is replicable.
Deadline: August 2, 2024

2023 Beacon Award Winners:

2022 Beacon Award Winners:

2021 Beacon Award Winners:

2020 Beacon Award Winners:

2019 Beacon Award Winners:

Sign up for our Newsletter

Explore the latest issue of NWCCU’s quarterly newsletter, The Beacon, and discover educational resources, innovations, and events happening in the Northwest.