Articles & Updates

NWCCU Task Force Schedules Town Hall Meetings

Dec. 1, 2017 ⋅ Categories: Events, NWCCU

Redmond, WA – The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) has announced a series of regional Town Hall Meetings to solicit member feedback and public comment as part of the renewal process for recognition by the US Department of Education. Town Halls will be held in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

The Task Force is led by Randy Aliment, a Public Member of the Commission. Task Force members include institutional representatives: Deneece Huftalin, President of Salt Lake Community College; Marc Johnson, President of the University of Nevada, Reno; and Steven Olswang, President of Washington Technology University. Participating on behalf of NWCCU are President Marlene Moore, Senior Fellow Mac Powell, and Senior Vice President Les Steele.

The Town Halls are open to member institutions and the general public, and build on information gained from a survey of institutions and an annual meeting devoted to receiving member feedback. The Town Halls will kick off at Salt Lake Community College on November 30th.
Subsequent Town Halls are scheduled at Montana State University on December 12th and the University of Nevada, Reno on December 14th. Additional scheduling information will be forthcoming and available at

“Effective communication between the Commission, participating institutions, and our various constituents is critical to the Commission’s success and I look forward to hearing from as diverse a constituency as possible as we consider the future of accreditation in the region,” comments Senior Fellow Dr. Mac Powell.